Do You Have an X Ring? Chances are you have been into Cameron’s Jewellery on Main Street, Antigonish.
Cameron’s on Main St. Antigonish has undergone a transformation and their new look is bright and inviting. With the interior design of Andrew Murray of Antigonish the store has a new look that celebrates the traditions of the past but adds the sparkle and modern décor of the present.
The center piece that features its “X” connection is a large black marble “X” inlay in the center of the floor area with an inlay of “1922” when the store was first opened. Above it is a chandelier with the “X” and crystal pendants.
The X Ring dates back to 1942. Working with the engineering class of St. Francis Xavier University, Cameron’s Jewellery designed the present X-Rings, a gold ring featuring a black enamel X within a raised gold square, with the date of graduation flanking the X on its shoulders.
The wooden oak cabinets running along the wall are the original oak cabinets with
design that highlights the oak grain. The cabinets are 90 years old and have been refurbished by CACL to bring out the beauty of the wood.
The large fireplace on the opposing wall gives a comfortable feel to the shopping experience and highlights art work on the feature wall. According to Donna MacPherson, the store manager “We had incredible craftsmen for the stonework, woodwork, electrical and fittings” in making over the store look. On our buying trip we looked for new items that were not currently available in Antigonish.
Cameron’s is a great place to shop for gifts, home decorating items, dishes and jewellery. The tasteful selection of items and the welcoming staff make this a great Main Street destination.
Browse the slide show using the arrow keys and click on the “Caption” button on the right to view the captions.
In the early evening the lighting on the displays adds a sparkle to Main Street. Be sure to stop in for a visit to see this new gem on Main Street.